what does “100 times better than organic” look like?

Crazy is relative and subjective.

xxx 20 artisans in seed and soil.

About a year and a half ago, I bought a big piece of land . When I was searching for this land, I wanted something that could be a permaculture community and a place to put to practice much of what I had been studying, discussing, and espousing over the many years at permies.com.  Lemme tell ya, this was a process that has involved many things, not the least of which is imagination.  So this blog is about what I am currently implementing on my land, and what I am still imagining could be possible on it.  Some of this might not necessarily be what is practical or realistic but more playing with …. if part of the mission is to live in a way that greatly reduces toxcity…. what might that mean?

I had a vision:  permaculture-symbiculture-husp.  The land would be divided into three chunks:   one chunk (10 acres) would be called “permaculture” and is roughly defined as “ten times better than organic”.  The second chunk (about  100 acres) would be called “symbiculture,” roughly defined as “ten  times better than permaculture”. Lastly, the remaining chunk would be “husp”, roughly “ten times better than symbiculture” (though actually an acronoym for “Horticulture of the United States of Pocahontas.”)

(maybe here you can discuss how that is happening on your land right now, how the divided chunks ended up)

In my previous blog, I discussed husp, how I came up with the term and what it means to me. Symbiculture, also a word I made up, is short for “symbiotic agriculture“.  It is a subset of permaculture – includes profit, ag, eco building, alternative energy, my philosophies on IC.  Symbiculture does not include the three ethics, the 12/14 principles, or social justice.

So, some of the attributes of each chunk of land are:

  1. permaculture: paint is allowed, but not much. Maybe ten times less than you would find on a typical organic farm; cars may be parked there, but care is taken to make sure stuff does not leak into the soil; imported organic matter is allowed (very carefully selected).
  2. symbiculture: very little paint is allowed; imported organic matter is not allowed; limited use of plastic; electric vehicles allowed; use of a trac hoe once a year is acceptable.
  3. husp: zero paint allowed; no plastics; no galvanized stuff; stainless steel and glass are okay; no electricity; no plumbing; nothing is ever burned (no fire, no candles); clothing restrictions (no synthetic fibers, shoes, etc.); no trac hoe.

I live in the symbiculture section. (here you had “I would theoretically live in the symbiculure section” but I don’t know which section you actually live in so I just left it)

Obviously the husp section has a LOT of stuff to still figure out. But that is the intention with husp – it is far more advanced than I can imagine, and I wish to make a feeble attempt to discover what could be.

Discuss this more in a thread dedicated to this blog
at permies.com:

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.